Titanomachies (ca. 1500-1450 BCE)

Titanomachies begins with the bronze-age society we now remember as the Minoan civilization. The people of Crete have lived in peace and plenty for over 1200 years - or at least, the island's most powerful residents have. This era of prosperity comes to an end with the fall of the Minoan gods and the rise of their Olympian successors, who go on to reign over the Mycenaens of Greece.

Taking place around 1500 BCE, Titanomachies is chronologically the first book in the series I have planned, though once the other books are published, one needn't feel obligated to read this one first. The book was spawned from flash-back scenes originally written for the later books, so expect a fair bit of exposition (a.k.a., information-dumping) in a relatively short span (about 53,000 words). It should be a great place to start if you like to begin a story with in-depth world-building.

Titanomachies has the strongest science-fiction bent of the books that will be posted here, since the well-understood science and technology of the ancient Titans will have faded from memory before human history truly begins. If you prefer a world filled with magical spells, arcane relics, and other supernatural forces that the protagonists grapple with understanding, the later books will be a better bet for you.

  • 1.00 - Prologue, In which the arrival of the gods is briefly told.
  • 1.01 - Harbinger of Fire, In which the hero of the story is met.
  • 1.02 - The Sky-Father's Court, In which the king of the gods makes a fateful decision.
  • 1.03 - Sacrifice, In which the First Titanomachy begins.
  • 1.04 - Journey into the Underworld, In which the hero descends into Tartarus.
  • 1.05 - Hell is War, In which the hero enters the darkest realm of Tartarus.
  • 1.06 - An Irredeemable Truth, In which the hero learns the price of power.
  • 1.07 - First Blood in Tartarus, In which death itself dies.
  • 1.08 - Strategic Concessions, In which the gods make another fateful decision.
  • 1.09 - Battle of Selakano Valley (Part I), In which the hero prepares to defend his people.
  • 1.10 - Battle of Selakano Valley (Part II), In which the villain encounters an obstacle.
  • 1.11 - Battle of Selakano Valley (Part III), In which a challenge is made.
  • 1.12 - Star-Crossed, In which confessions are made.
  • 1.13 - Pandora's Box, In which an advantage is given.
  • 1.14 - Titan Fall, In which there can be only one.
  • 1.15 - Crossroads, In which the dies are cast.
  • 1.16 - Scions of War, In which the second Titanomachy begins.
  • 1.17 - Changing Faces, In which two survivors resume their conspiracy.
  • 1.18 - Plans, In which our heroes consider their future.
  • 1.19 - Secrets, In which Rhea's confidence must be betrayed.
  • 1.20 - Deals, In which our hero makes a dangerous alliance.
  • 1.21 - Time Flies, In which Kronos visits carnage upon the heretics n the valley.
  • 1.22 - Best Laid Plans of Gods, In which Morgania must improvise. Again.
  • 1.23 - It's a Trap, In which an enemy is defeated.
  • 1.24 - Titan's End, In which the Third Titanomachy comes to pass.
  • 1.25 - Olympus Rising, In which a new era begins in Greece.
  • 1.26 - The Damnation of Prometheus, In which the story reaches its inevitable conclusion.

No comments:

Post a Comment